top of page

Peace agreements with Israel

Israel is located in the Middle East, surrounded by Arab countries. It has peace agreements and diplomatic relations with some of them, while with others its borders are closed.

The first Israeli peace treaty was signed in 1979 by the erstwhile prime minister Menachem Begin and the president of Egypt, Anwar Sadat, witnessed by Jimmy Carter, the president of the United States of America. The next peace treaty with Israel was signed by Jordan’s King Hussein and Israeli prime minister Yitzhak Rabin in 1994.

In 2020 and 2021, the Israeli situation in the Middle East changed considerably; with the support of the United States, Israel signed peace agreements with the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Oman, Sudan, and Morocco. To support this agreement, the United States had to recognize Morocco’s claim over Western Sahara. The agreements are called Abraham Accords to emphasize the belief in the Prophet Abraham in both Judaism and Islam.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page